What is the Hajj?

More About What is the Hajj Murouj Academy

What is the Hajj?

Haj is considered one of the 5 pillars of Islam religion. Haj in English means pilgrimage where a Muslim should travel to Mecca City in KSA to do the Hajj Ritual. A Muslim is expected to make this religious Journey once at least in his life.

We will write everything about What is the Hajj? In detail in the coming lines.

What is the hajj in Islam?

  •  What is the Hajj? Hajj in Islam is the pilgrimage of Muslims to the city of Mecca in a specific season every year, and it has certain rituals called the rituals of Hajj. The Haj is a once-in-a-lifetime duty for every able-bodied adult Muslim.
  • It is the fifth pillar of Islam for the Prophet Muhammad, peace be upon him, said: “Islam is built on five: testifying that there is no god, but Allah and that Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah, praying regularly, paying zakat, fasting Ramadan, and pilgrimage to Kaaba for those who can afford it.”
  • Hajj is obligatory for every able-bodied adult Muslim, according to what was mentioned in the Quran: And proclaim the Hajj among the people, they will come to you on foot and every lean camel, they will come from every deep valley.
  • The rituals of Hajj begin on the eighth of the month of Dhul-Hija, with the pilgrim entering Ihram at the specified Hajj times.
  • Then go to Makkah to perform the Tawaf of Advent, then go to Mina to spend the day of Tarwiyah, then go to Arafat to spend the day of Arafat, the pilgrim throws the Jamarat (stones) at Jamrat Al-Aqaba Al-Kubra, and the pilgrim returns to Makkah to perform the Tawaf Al-Ifadah, then returns to Mina to spend the days of Al-Tashreeq, And the pilgrim returns to Mecca to perform the farewell circumambulation and leave the holy places.

Stay tuned for our article about What is the Hajj?


Why is Haj important?

There are many worldly benefits of Hajj such as:

  • Achieving acquaintance between Muslims, where Muslims from all countries gather, so that meeting is a presumption of harnessing each other; To achieve the general benefit for them.
  • Exchanging knowledge and experiences between Muslims, in addition to achieving affection and mercy among them.
  • strengthening social relations among Muslims; As they check each other’s conditions, their hearts soften for each other
  • Self-training to bear hardships; Obedience and worship to Allah Almighty and His Messenger, upon him, be peace and blessings.

Please read the coming lines about What is the Hajj?


7 steps of the hajj:

The rituals that the pilgrim performs are, in order:

1- Ihram and Tawaf

2- Walking between Safa and Marwah

3- The Day of Tarwiyah in Mina

4- Standing at Arafat

5- Tawaf al-Ifadah

6- Throwing pebbles during the days of Tashreeq, torism in Muzdalifah and stonning at Jamarat al-Aqaba

7- The farewell circumambulation and the completion of the Hajj.


If you want to know what is the Hajj?
The pilgrim begins to enter the ihram, then goes to the Kaaba. striving for the walks between Safa and Marwah, and the pilgrim breaks loose if he is statuesque, either if he is standing, or a fraud; So, it is not dissolved, then the heading to Mina is on the eighth day of Dhul-Hija, then the standing in Arafa on the ninth day, then the heading to Muzdalifah after the sunset of the ninth day, and on the tenth day the stoning of Jamrat Al-Aqaba, the slaughter of the sacrifice, shaving the hair or shortening, and circumambulation Then back to Mina.

The nights of al-Tashreeq, the brand, and the three Jamarat are spent overnight; Minor, Middle, and Aqaba, on each of the three days of Tashreeq, the one who hastily shaves for two nights only, and the pilgrim concludes the Hajj by performing the farewell circumambulation.

We still have information to tell you about what the Hajj is. Stay with us.

5 Pillars of Islam:

 To answer the question What is the Hajj?  We should know that Islam was built on basic pillars mentioned by the Prophet – upon him be blessings and peace – in the honorable hadith: (Islam is built on five: bearing witness that there is no god, but Allah and that Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah, establishing prayer, paying zakat, performing the Hajj, and fasting in Ramadan).

Those are the 5 pillars of Islam as mentioned in our prophet’s Hadith, so they are:

  • Testify that there is no God, but Allah and that Master Muhammed is the prophet of Allah.
  • Prayer: It is the second pillar of Islam, so Muslims must believe that prayer is obligatory and that God Almighty has imposed on His servants five prayers per day and night.
  • Zakat: A person must believe that Allah Almighty has imposed on the rich of the nation zakat on their wealth to be given to the poor.
  • Fasting is the fourth pillar of Islam, so the Muslim must believe that Allah Almighty has commanded His servants to fast during the blessed month of Ramadan by abstaining from things that break the fast, such as eating, drinking, and sexual intercourse during the day in Ramadan until sunset.
  • Hajj: A Muslim must believe in the obligation of Hajj adult Muslim who is able, so Allah Almighty made Muslims season to visit the Sacred Mosque, circumambulate around it, and perform the rituals of Hajj. And now you know that Hajj is the fifth pillar of Islam and have a detailed answer to the question: What is the Hajj?

Hope you enjoyed our article about What is the Hajj? 

Related Posts

10 Sunnahs on the day of Eid

God Almighty prescribed for His faithful servants the two feasts. Because it brings joy and happiness to them, and it is indicated that before the

Read More

Want to receive emails?

Sign up to get an email every time a new blog is published. Only happens once a month!